top of page
Search

The VVitch (2015)



Movie: The Witch Synopsis: A family in 1630s New England is torn apart by the forces of witchcraft, black magic and possession. Release Date: January 27, 2015 MPAA Rating: R Writer: Robert Eggers Director: Robert Eggers Star Cast: Anya Taylor-Joy Ralph Ineson Kate Dickie Harvey Scrimshaw Ellie Grainger Lucas Dawson This movie had very mixed reviews and I don’t listen to reviews that much which seems odd since I want you to read my review. I had $5 in Best Buy money so I decided to pick up The Witch. I can say that $5 is all this movie is worth. It had its good and its bad just like any other movie but this movie just never got going for me and I was glad when the credits rolled. I’m not going to cover every part of the movie but hopefully I can hit the main points and then you decide if you want to watch it or not. Like I said I don’t listen to many reviews because in the end it’s just opinion and I want y’all to form your own opinion. First I want to point out for being his first movie to direct, Robert Eggers took a huge leap by including children and animals in his movie. Bravo to you sir and I will give you one star just for that! The acting is pretty good in this movie as well. You can see from the beginning how loving this family is and then when hardship strikes and it starts tearing them apart. The thing that drove me crazy though is how quiet they would talk sometimes for no necessary reason. On top of the whispering they would speak in old English that just made it so hard to follow along. I understand it’s set in that time period but come on help me out here! This movie drags on! The movie is only 93 minutes long but it feels like hours. Then you have a black screen in between cut scenes that last longer than they should. I feel like someone was in the room saying hey we need this movie to be long and someone replied let’s add black screens in between scenes for no reason. I could never quite figure out what this movie was trying to get at. The family gets kicked out their village, move out in the middle of nowhere, a witch starts killing off family members, and then the daughter becomes a witch after everyone is dead. This movie has a lot of religious background so maybe they were killed for their “sins”? I don’t know but maybe it requires research. If you know what the point is please let me know! The best part of this movie? The setting is amazing with dark woods but beautiful scenery at the same time. They did an awesome job filming the movie and capturing the beauty and the darkness. That’s the only positives I got but this movie has a 91% on Rotten Tomatoes so somebody out there likes it. As for me I’ll pass. Like I said before form your own opinion and let me know below what you think of The Witch. It’s received mixed reviews but for me I’m going to give it a 2 out of 5 stars. One star for first time directing and using children and animals. Second star is for the setting and filming. It has a slow story and the black screens just drove me crazy after a while. 

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page