top of page
Search

Boogeyman


Movie: Boogeyman


Synopsis:

A young man tries to deal with the childhood terror that has never stopped haunting him.


Release Date: February 4, 2005


MPAA Rating: PG-13


Writer:

Eric Kripke

Juliet Snowden

Stiles White


Director: Stephen Kay


Star Cast:

Barry Watson

Emily Deschanel

Skye McCole Bartusiak

Lucy Lawless


Look in your closet! It’s a shirt!? It’s a hanger!? No! It’s the Boogeyman! Growing up every kid is afraid of the Boogeyman living in the closet or under the bed. So why not make a horror movie about it? Tim, played by Barry Watson from 7th Heaven, lost his dad to the Boogeyman when he was young. Everyone else says he just ran away but Tim knows the truth. Ever since that night Tim has no doors in his house as you never know which one the Boogeyman will be behind. After his mother’s death he goes back to the house where it all began only to find how the Boogeyman has been waiting for him. The question that remains is if this is a good movie or one to keep hidden in the closet.


I found this Boogeyman three pack at my local pawn shop and thought what a steal! What a steal was the time I wasted. Ok it wasn’t terrible but it could have been so much better. PG-13 horror movie strikes again! Let’s get into some things I liked about the movie because there was some. I enjoyed the idea behind the movie because even though it’s a simple concept I think they executed it well. Although I don’t know if they meant to I enjoyed the moral of the movie. To fight your demons you must face them head on and destroy what has made them strong. The last thing I enjoyed was it had me guessing was the Boogeyman real or was it all made up in his head?These are a few strong pieces but there were some roadblocks that kept the movie from being a hit for me.


The biggest roadblock to me was the CGI. It was just so awful! It made the Boogeyman laughable and unrealistic. To me special effects is crucial in a horror movie especially if you are working with a villain that is supernatural. Another part that hurt this movie was sometimes it was hard to follow and just downright boring in some places. I would have liked more creepiness and darkness. It’s the Boogeyman for crying out loud! I think I was more creeped out my his dead mother vision than the Boogeyman.


This movie had some strong parts and some very weak parts but all in all it just didn't wow me. I’m going to give Boogeyman a two out of five stars. Anyways, I got to go check under my bed for...

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page