top of page
Search

The Unborn


Movie: The Unborn


Synopsis: A young woman fights the spirit that is slowly taking possession of her.


Release Date: January 9, 2009


MPAA Rating: PG-13


Writer: David S. Goyer


Director: David S. Goyer


Star Cast:

Odette Yustman Gary Oldman Meagan Good Cam Gigandet James Remar Jane Alexander Idris Elba Carla Gugino


When I first watched this movie I was 19 at the drive in theatre in Ennis. I thought man this is an awesome movie with great scares. Fast forward 10 years later and this movie has not aged well and I was pretty much bored through the whole thing. Why was that? Had my taste in horror changed? Was it a one hit wonder? Or was it terrible all along? I think the answer is all the above. As I’ve grown my taste in horror has changed because I’ve watched more horror to this point. It was a one hit wonder in the fact that I saw it and got scared but now it doesn’t do anything. And lastly yes it was terrible all along because critics do not like this movie.


In the movie our main actress finds out she was a twin and now a demon that possessed her great uncle is coming after her. This is back when possession movies were the hot commodity that the movie market was saturated with them. This movie is no different with your typical exorcism being performed and the demon killing people but never getting strong enough to win. For some reason the demon rather make cheesy jumpscares instead of actually possessing a person. I will say the kid is pretty creepy looking.


The main actress, Odette Yustman, has a best friend who is played by Meagan Good. This best friend believes in supernatural stuff but discounts anything and makes up excuses for what is happening to Odette’s character. This is where I scratch my head and wonder why make her believe supernatural things if she isn’t going to believe her BEST friend! Other than that the acting actually isn’t terrible and has some pretty well known actors in it.


At the end of the movie you are kind of left hanging after you find out Odette’s character is pregnant with twins after sleeping with her now deceased boyfriend. They so could have made a low budget, B-movie with no name actors sequel. I’m kind of glad they didn’t but man a demon baby would have been different right? No, that’s been done before? Oh.


At the end of the day this movie was cool back in 2009 but now it just doesn’t hold up to well. I’m going to give The Unborn a 2 out of 5 stars. If you want to watch another cliche possession movie then be my guest. Thanks for reading!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page