top of page
Search

The Possession


Movie: The Possession


Synopsis:

A young girl buys an antique box at a yard sale, unaware that inside the collectible lives a malicious ancient spirit. The girl's father teams with his ex-wife to find a way to end the curse upon their child.


Release Date: August 31, 2012


MPAA Rating: PG-13


Writer:

Juliet Snowden

Stiles White

Director: Ole Bornedal

Star Cast:

Jeffrey Dean Morgan

Kyra Sedgwick

Natasha Calis

Grant Show

Madison Davenport

Matisyahu


This another movie I picked up at my local pawn shop and it was a movie I had never seen before or heard a lot about. My first thought was “oh great, another one of them possession movies”. I mean the movie is even just called “The Possession”. Then I saw Jeffrey Dean Morgan stars in it and that Sam Raimi produced it and I got a little more interested. I didn’t spend that much money on the movie so I can’t really complain can I? Yes, yes I can, this is my website!


The Possession has no problem getting straight to the point. You are thrown into a broken family with a father and mother that are divorced and two young girls. Jeffrey Dean Morgan, the dad, gets to take the girls for the weekend when he shows them he’s got a new house. The youngest daughter, Em, played by Natasha Calis, finds an antique box at a yard sale that she is drawn to. As time passes Em’s behavior becomes more strange and more violent. Who will win in the end? Negan I mean Clyde (Jeffrey Dean Morgan) or the demon?


I was pretty into this movie until the very end when things got kind of humorous to me. The demon was not scary at all and Tzadok (Matisyahu) was making some funny moves while trying to get the demon out. It’s not a terrible ending as it shows a father’s love for his children will endure through anything, even a demon. I just think they could have gotten under my skin a little bit better and made this movie what it could be. Everything else was pretty much on point. Great acting, great storyline, and engaging.


Don’t get me wrong this is no Exorcist but it’s a fun possession movie that says buckle up because this is going to be a ride. I believe if you see this movie at a bargain bin or for rent somewhere then grab it. I’m going to give The Possession a 3 out of 5. Thanks for reading!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page