top of page
Search

Happy Death Day (2017)


Movie: Happy Death Day


Synopsis:

A college student must relive the day of her murder over and over again, in a loop that will end only when she discovers her killer's identity.

Release Date: October 13, 2017

MPAA Rating: PG-13


Writer: Scott Lobdell


Director: Christopher Landon


Star Cast:

Jessica Rothe

Israel Broussard


Monday finally got its own horror movie. Sort of. What if you lived Monday over and over again? On top of that it was your birthday. Not bad right? Well then what if you died at the end of the day every time? Not great. Well Jessica Rothe who plays as Theresa or Tree as they call her in the movie must live her “death day” over and over again until she solves the mystery of who it is. There’s multiple suspects and you are brought along to wonder who can it be?


I picked this movie up for $9.99 on Blu-ray and with the sequel coming out soon I had to grab it. I wasn’t really sure what to expect as the previews made it out to be cheesy. I always say it’s hard to take a PG-13 horror movie seriously. This movie was better than I expected but I kind of had a hunch on who the culprit was from the beginning.


One of the things I liked about this movie was the fact that it was more than a horror movie. You see a transformation each time she relives the day she becomes a better person. She ditches the whole sorority girl for just being a down to earth person. I felt like there was actually a lesson to be learned of live each day like it’s your last. You also find out midway through the movie that she had lost her mom and they shared the same birthday. This was causing a division between her and her day and maybe even between her and happiness. Happy Death Day most importantly teaches you don’t trust anyone even if it’s your (spoiler alert) roommate (end spoiler). I loved the two main characters in this movie though. Jessica Rothe puledl off the sorority girl and the kick your butt final girl. Israel Broussard who plays Carter is lost the whole time because every time Tree wakes up Carter doesn’t remember what happened. Great chemistry between the two as well and it seems they will be in the sequel Happy Death Day 2 U.


Where the movie failed was the scary part and a crucial part I would say for horror. The masked villain did not creep me out and maybe it was even on the silly side. The inmate at the hospital was scarier than the baby masked villain. That’s another thing, why would your college mascot be a baby!? Come on! It seems they were trying to mix a little bit of every genre in this movie and in some places it hit a bullseye and in others it didn’t even get on the board.


At the end it pays tribute to Groundhogs Day and Tree and Carter live happily ever after. Right? I guess we will find out in the next one! I’m going to rate this movie at a 3 out of 5 stars. If I did halves I’d probably say 3.5 but I don’t. Fun movie to watch but it misses some key points of horror. Go check it out before the sequel premieres and stay tuned for my review on Happy Death 2 U on YouTube!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page