top of page
Search

Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter


Movie: Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter


Synopsis: After being mortally wounded and taken to the morgue, murderer Jason Voorhees spontaneously revives and embarks on a killing spree as he makes his way back to his home at Camp Crystal Lake.


Release Date: April 13, 1984


MPAA Rating: R


Writer: Barney Cohen


Director: Joseph Zito


Star Cast:

Kimberly Beck Peter Barton Crispin Glover


Set to once again be the last installment in the Friday The 13th franchise with it marketed as “The Final Chapter”. As we all know that didn’t happen. The movie picks up where number three left off but first it gives you a montage of “previously on Friday the 13th”. Y’all all know how much I hate that. I don’t know why I hate it so much but it just bores me before the movie even starts. Anyways, this movie has Jason coming back to life in a morgue and making his way back to Camp Blood I mean Camp Crystal Lake. You know the one that has a death curse?


I enjoyed this movie for the most part. It had a fun vibe throughout it while Jason was going around slashing people up. It was definitely better than its predecessor as the acting wasn’t so awful. The gore was better and Jason was just a beast in this movie not a robot. They kept the iconic hockey mask and that has been the best look Jason has ever had. You don’t see to many T-shirt’s with Jason and a brown sack on his head now do you? I liked the humor mixed in. Maybe it’s my dark humor but when the guy is asking where the corkscrew is to get the bottle open and then Jason stabs him in the hand with it. I’m wrong I know.


A few things I didn’t understand that made me not like the movie. One was why did Jason see fit to attack this family and the college kids next door? It just doesn’t seem to have any rhyme or reason. It doesn’t kill the movie (no pun intended) but kind of a head scratcher. Another was how the heck did Jason come back to life? No reason is given for how he came back to life. One minute pronounced dead and the next he’s walking around killing people. The last that got me is how did he get all the way out of the city without anyone noticing him. You mean to tell me there was only two people in that whole place and the city was empty? I think it would have been cool to get some Rambo thing going on where Jason is in the city laying waste to people and hiding from the police.


We all know this wasn’t the end of the Jason franchise but I think this would have been a great way to end it and give it a rest. This movie had everything you would want in a good slasher like cute girls, blood, and great kills. I give this movie a 4 out of 5 stars. It’s better than the third installment and about on par with the first two. Go check this one out and thanks for reading!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page