top of page
Search

A Nightmare On Elm Street 2 (1985)



Movie: A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy’s Revenge Synopsis: A teenage boy is haunted in his dreams by deceased child murderer Freddy Kreuger, who is out to possess him in order to continue his reign of terror in the real world. Release Date: November 1, 1985 MPAA Rating: R Writer: David Chaskin Director: Jack Sholder Star Cast: Mark Patton Kim Myers Robert Rusler Clu Gulager Hope Lange Robert Englund Nightmare on Elm Street starts out a few years after the events of the first one. This time it has all new characters, except Robert Englund, but the same old house. After having some terrifying dreams about Freddy Krueger, Jesse who is played by Mark Patton and Lisa who is played by Kim Myers, find a diary left behind by Nancy from the first one. In the diary Jesse finds out he isn’t the only one who has had dreams about Freddy Krueger. As Freddy tries to possess Jesse’s body through out the movie Lisa tries to use the power of love to save him. Sorry did I just make it sound really cheesy? What this movie got right was to get Robert Englund back because a lot of times movies not just horror fail to do that. What did they do wrong? They didn’t bring back Heather Langenkamp! I would have enjoyed this movie more if they would have done a direct sequel and showed us how Nancy moved on from the tragic happenings in the first one. Also not having Wes Craven was definitely a downer. The more I watch this movie the more I realize there was a lot of missed potential. I feel like this movie is more about love conquering evil more than being about being scary. The first movie I gave a 5 out of 5 as it just gets under my skin. The sequel has its good but does not even come close to the original. Robert Englund was a huge reason the original was so scary but I feel like he isn’t really utilized in this sequel. Overall though the acting is pretty decent in this movie. The kill scenes in this movie aren’t that great either as how creative and brutal they were in the first. I like the idea of Freddy trying to possess Jesse’s body but nothing was scary or creepy about it. Oh and the scene where Jesse does a dance montage while he’s cleaning his room is just something that I try to forget about. I will say it was cool to have a little more back story and see the factory that Freddy worked at but just the feeling of a love story is killing me! I would say the only creepy part of the movie was his sister doing the 1 2 Freddy’s coming for you song while doing jump rope in her room. The special effects are cheesy of course since it is an eighties horror movie but who didn’t expect that. One thing that drove me crazy after the movie was over was why does he ride the bus at the beginning of the movie and then at the end of the movie but in between he drives his car? I would just stay off of the bus! I’m sorry this movie just didn’t do it for me. The story idea is cool but the execution is lacking. Great job at getting Robert Englund in this movie but I really do feel like a direct sequel would have been way better. I give this movie 2 out of 5 stars and hope Freddy doesn’t kill me in my sleep tonight. 

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page